PHS Team Wins Third Consecutive Title

January 27, 2013 1:41 pm0 commentsViews: 39
Share Button
Coach Don Little (right) and Assistant Coaches Greg Sargent and Ken Cislak (left) are shown with the team.

Coach Don Little (right) and Assistant Coaches Greg Sargent and Ken Cislak (left) are shown with the team.


Pennsbury High School’s Girls Cross Country team dominated the PIAA Class AAA State Championships in Hershey again this year, coming out on top with their third consecutive state title.

Coach Don Little offers this reflection on the program, the season, and the latest championship: “At the conclusion of the 2012 Girls Cross Country season, the¬†Pennsbury¬†Falcons won the State Championship for the third time in as many years. In 2012, the Falcons faced the difficult challenge of pulling off a 3-peat. The team was ranked #1 in PA and 20th nationally during the pre-season, so the stage was set for an unprecedented triple. The team lost star senior Ann Herman, but returned seniors Sara Sargent and Elizabeth Wedekind, rising junior Erica Gray, and super-soph Erin O’Connell. Like many storybooks, the team faced adversity and setbacks, including an early-season upset from cross-district rival, PA #2 Unionville. The team took it in stride, adapted, and overcame.

“The girls ran harder with spirited determination while keeping their eyes on the prize. After an early-season loss, the team went on to win the Carlisle Invitational and went undefeated in the Conference dual meet season. At the SOL Championships, the team took seven of the top eight spots and at Districts, five of the top 30, and at States, five in the top 25, to win the Championship season in both dramatic and historic fashion. At the State meet, they earned a remarkably low score of 43 points.”

Mr. Little adds, “I would like to thank the girls for their hard work, the coaching staff of Greg Sargent and Ken Cislak for all of their efforts, the Boys staff, Tim Cass, the team parents, administrators, Board members, staff and faculty of the School District for their support. Next year we will go for four!”